Oli Warner About Contact Subscribe

Review: Ubuntu Studio 7.04

Saturday, 12 May 2007 linux review

Ubuntu variant of concentrating on three creative tasks: video editing, audio recording and graphics. I takes it for a test-drive.

Review: Gentoo 2007.0

Friday, 11 May 2007 linux review

After five years of abstaining from getting down-and-dirty with Gentoo, Oli revisits the distribution that was responsible for many a migraine all those years ago… But does it cut the mustard when compared to other modern distributions?

Review: MCNLive Delft RC1

Tuesday, 1 May 2007 linux review

Another Linux review and in my sights this time, Mandrivaclub.nl’s MCNLive ‘Delft’ Release Candidate 1.

IE6 usage is dropping like a stone

Monday, 30 April 2007 browsers ie6 ie7 microsoft ie

Six years old and still causing plenty of headaches for webdevelopers, IE6 represents everything that is bad and wrong with Microsoft… But there is hope! Figures show that IE6 usage is dropping right off, really much faster than could be expected.

Photoshop takes the RAM-Burning Cup

Sunday, 29 April 2007 memory leak messenger personal photoshop

Oli weighs up the cost for the immensely improved photomerge feature in Photoshop CS3: 1.1gigs of RAM. Includes a comparison between CS2 and CS3 photomerge results.

Review: PUD GNU/Linux 0.4.7

Sunday, 29 April 2007 linux review

Oli gives the PUD GNU/Linux project a run for its money over two computers and finds that the real let down is the XFCE window manager that, although fast, is nowhere near as usable as it needs to be to compete in the Linux desktop race.

Stop hacking my server!

Saturday, 28 April 2007 rant

Oli gets mad as hackers converge on his server… But the problem is none of them have a brain cell between them. Sigh…

Is 9rules the new Ebaum’s World?

Wednesday, 18 April 2007 9rules rant

Schwing Internet

Tuesday, 17 April 2007 funny

Complete data overload

Sunday, 15 April 2007 news personal

Stop the server abuse!

Thursday, 12 April 2007 javascript rant webdev

Have a look at the silly things IconBuffet are doing.

Oli’s Desk of Opportunity +5

Wednesday, 11 April 2007 meme personal

Easter 07 Update

Tuesday, 10 April 2007 news

Virgin supports piracy?

Tuesday, 27 March 2007 funny piracy

Shred Agent

Friday, 23 March 2007 review technology